Tags

, ,

Image

I’ve been into SPAM my whole life. I remember eating SPAM and rice since I was a kid. Love it! Now, as an adult, I always have at least two cans of SPAM in the cupboard. And what self-respecting Asian wouldn’t have rice in the house, am I right?

2012 marks SPAM’s 75th birthday so might as well give it some blog time.

SPAM Musubi – Yeah I know, it’s basically still just fried SPAM and rice but it comes with noori AND you can add furikake and teriyaki!

Fried SPAM slices and rice used to be my favorite way to eat SPAM. When my sister got back from completing her graduate studies at the University of Hawaii, she turned me on to SPAM musubi. WTF?! How could I have not known about SPAM musubi for so long? It’s heartbreaking! In musubi form is now my favorite way to eat it and there are many delicious variations on the SPAM musubi recipe. Yum!

I don’t know if this is a universal truth, but it seems to be accurate in my circles: caucasian folk don’t seem to have a fondness for SPAM. I’m not even sure if their dislike is from trying and not liking it, or if they think the idea of processed meat delivered in rectangular cuboid form is unsavory. Give it to me in any shape … I’m frying it up and eating it with rice!

Here are some SPAM tidbits:

• In 1936, Hormel Foods came up with a precooked meat product simply called Hormel Spiced Ham. They held a contest to name the new product and in 1937 SPAM was introduced to the world. The contest winner was awarded $100.

• The typical SPAM can contains 12 ounces of SPAM. The SPAM loaf is 3.75″ wide x 3″ tall x 2″ deep.

• From 1941 to 1945, 100 million pounds of SPAM was shipped to Allied troops during WWII.

• There are 11 SPAM products

• In 2001, the SPAM Museum opened to the public at 1101 N. Main St., Austin, MN.

• According the Wikipedia: Email spam is “named for SPAM luncheon meat by way of a Monty Python sketch in which SPAM is depicted as ubiquitous and unavoidable.”

• By 2007, Hormel produced more than 7 billion cans of SPAM

Happy birthday SPAM! I love ya!

